3D Models

Cyberion

Administrator
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
799
The following is a list of 3D models needed to achieve our current goal.

Current goal: finish first room

________________________

Workstation Finished by Abyssary

orig_workstation.png


Container #1 Finished by Cyberion

orig_plasticbarrel.png


Container #2 (WIP by Cyberion)

orig_woodencontainer1.png


Container #3, Tall container (WIP by Cyberion)

orig_woodencontainer2.png


Intrusion alarm light Finished by Abyssary

orig_alarmlight.png


Intrusion alarm control switch Still needed

orig_alarmcontrolsw.png


Fence #1 (by the teleport pad) Finished by Cyberion

Fence #2 (for lining raised spaces) Finished by Cyberion

orig_fence2.png


Computer terminal Finished by Abyssary

Switch #1 (keypad/toggle) Still needed, PRIORITY

Switch #2 (big lever, operates the elevator) Still needed, PRIORITY

orig_lever.png


Switch #3 (keypad/passcode, two versions) Still needed

orig_keypads.png


Teleport pads (active & inactive) Finished by Cyberion

orig_teleport_pads.png


Security camera (a working one and a shot one) Finished by Heoga

orig_securitycamera.png


Security console Still needed

orig_securityconsole.png


Gas container tank Still needed, PRIORITY

orig_tank.png


RP-32 clip Still needed

orig_weaponclip1.png
 

Cyberion

Administrator
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
799
What have been done so far (just moved images from the news section post):

showoffpm3.jpg


showoffet3.jpg


showoffek0.jpg
 

Jupix

New member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
139
Updated the first post.

And on another note... How is the barrel collision model progressing?
 

Cyberion

Administrator
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
799
ok here it is. All collision models I make, I'll call bounding box. So in the archive for every model will be a model itself with a unique name and collision model named bounding_box.smd for this model. It's a simple 6 polygon shape for collision purposes.

Barrel(I removed those detailes on top, i guess we do not need them).
http://cyberionsystems.com/echosector/files/mods/hl2mod_regret/barrel.rar

The Teleporter:
http://cyberionsystems.com/echosector/files/mods/hl2mod_regret/teleporter_fence.rar


A request:
Please could you now compile a map that you have so far with the added model I gave you please? I would like to see in real time how they look in the engine. That way I'll know what I can improve to make them look even better.
 

Keenan

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
795
A suggestion... I'd like for the models to be as accurate as possible. I know it's not my mod, but I really really really want it to be as accurate to the source material as possible.
 

Jupix

New member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
139
Not in any way, IMO!

And GOOD NEWS, Cyb! I just got the barrels to work 100%:



And here's the test map you requested. Just unpack it in "\Program Files\Valve\Steam\SteamApps\jupix\half-life 2\hl2" and you should be good to go. :)

Some minor tweaking with the collision model is still necessary but all in all we're now set for some "assembly line" modeling :)
 

Jupix

New member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
139
Here we have the teleport fences in place and also a size mockup of the teleport pad. It's 96 x 96 hammer units, 8 hammer units tall (maybe 16 if you prefer it that height). :)

 

Bboy Silencer

New member
Joined
Aug 17, 2007
Messages
74
I'm sure gonna play it when it's out. I'll look for my HL cd rom sometime. I think I still have it.
 

Keenan

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
795
You don't need the CD to play... Steam can do it.
 

Cyberion

Administrator
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
799
thx, but i'm jsut a modeler there ;) Jupix is a builder :p

as for collision model. Jupix, i noticed that you used the old model. Use the one I sent you in a package with collision model. It's corrected and edited one. So there might be a trouble bro.
 

Jupix

New member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
139
I just imported the fence models and tried them out, found out they're way too big... Can you cut up the models so that the corner bit would be a half of its old size and the segment would be 1/4? Also, can you cut the ends off the models so that having lots of them side by side would not result in an irregular pattern? Maybe have the "end" bit as a separate model?
 

Cyberion

Administrator
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
799
bro can't you shrink it a bit? It's quite hard to try and find exact size. For will be easiest way to model by the dimensions.

I mean you tell me how long it's in meters and I model it. I need height and width in meters or centimeters. That way I can model exactly the size you need. Otherwise I have to imagine from the image and reference material, how long and big it can be.
 

Jupix

New member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
139
Someone has to "imagine" anyway because obviously there's no "official" source of dimensions info. I think it's best if we leave that to the modeller, because I'm as likely as anyone to get it wrong... However, in this case the overall size (scale) of it was spot on, that means height and depth. What I meant was the "segment" model had too many "segments" in it, meaning it could be cut to 1/4 and we would lose none of its shape, but it would be possible to tweak the size of any fenced zone more accurately. Same goes for the corner tile.

Here's a pic of what I'm talking about. I've colored red everything that's unnecessary:

fence_cut.png


Just clipping off those extra bits would make the models perfect.
 

Cyberion

Administrator
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
799
ok got you bro.

I'll make 1 section. And corner one 1x1 section. No problem here. I though you talked about exact size, like in centimeters.
 
Top Bottom